Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Announcement: Introducing Jamie Scott and Little Sacrifices

Chick Lit author Michele Gorman has a women's fiction alter ego.


Known for her best-selling chick lit (the Single in the City series and Bella Summer Takes a Chance), Michele Gorman also writes women’s fiction under the name Jamie Scott and today sees the re-launch of her first novel, Little Sacrifices. This atmospheric, evocative depiction of the American South may just be the perfect summer read for fans of The Secret Life of Bees or To Kill A Mockingbird.



ABOUT THE BOOK

How much would you risk to stand up for your beliefs?
When the Powell family moves to Savannah Georgia in the late 1940s, they hope against hope that they'll be welcomed. But they're Northerners and worse, they're civil rights advocates almost a decade too early. The American South is deeply segregated.

At first their daughter, May, can pretend they're the same as everyone else. It means keeping quiet when she knows she should speak up, but it's worth the sacrifice to win friends. Unfortunately her parents are soon putting their beliefs into action. And when they wake to find that they're the only family on the block with a Ku Klux Klan cross blazing on their front lawn, the time comes for them to finally decide between what's easy and what's right.

HOW IT BEGINS

“Fifty–five years has made me a Savannahian by inclination if not origin. Everyone who meets me hears the taffy pull drawl of a native and feels the Southern hospitality for which we are known. They are surprised to find that I was once a Yankee, so well have I acclimated. The process began when we moved, but will never really be complete.”



Buy this book: Amazon


Thanks for stopping by. Until next time, happy reading!



Buylinks are provided as a courtesy and do not constitute an endorsement of or affiliation with this book, author or booksellers listed. 

All materials for this post provided by Michele Gorman.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hey, thanks for reading this post. We hope you liked it. Please share your thoughts - we always enjoy hearing from readers.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...